New Constitution for Nepal: Seven provinces and national assemblies of major ethnic groups

Nepal at the current state of socio-economic conditions and physical infrastructure cannot afford and sustain 10 provinces. It will be balanced and justifiable to have seven provinces with approximately 4 million population each. There can be at least 3 or 4 modular combinations to ascertain where these seven provinces will be located. For this state structuring model to function well, the following provisions are necessary components: 1. Geographic area be demarcated for one province each to have greater prominence of major ethnic groups such as Eastern Madheshis (in the East from Parsha), Western Madeshis (in the West from Nawal Parashi), Eastern Janajati (Rai, Limbu, Sherpa, Lama etc in the East of Kavre and Sindhulpalchok), Western Janajatis (Gurung and Magar in the West of Gorkha unto Rapti zone), Dalits (in the West from Khaptad). But, this does not mean that these provinces belong to these ethnic groups. These prominences are not artificial but actually natural, as they already exist in real terms, 2. All major Caste and Ethnic groups (Tagadhari, Newari, Janajati, Madeshis and Karmajans (now called Dalit) and other minorities) must be organized themselves into their respective National Assembly (e.g. Rastriya Tagadhari Sabha, Rastriya Newari Sabha, Rastriya Karmajan Sabha, Ratriya Madheshi Sabha, and Rastriya Minority Sabha (for all other minor ethnic groups that do not want to come into the fold of major ethnic groups) as constitutional bodies to represent their ethnic groups as nationhoods. All these ethnic groups are equal to non-territorial states (nationhoods), but do not officially command any territorial land areas. Each of these National Assembies will have special seats in the Parliaments based on proportion of their population they represent. This is the best combination of amicable solution for a just society in Nepal.

(Source: Just Society in DISCUS.COM).

Related article:

दलित महासभा बनाइन पर्छ

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: