Belated tribute to Muhammad Ali

Paying a belated tribute to Muhammad Ali, we remember and internalize a bold defining message he gave in 1970 when he said, “I am America. I am the part you won’t recognize. But get used to me — black, confident, cocky; my name, not yours; my religion, not yours; my goals, my own. Get used to me.” Clearly, he teaches us to become “confident” and “cocky” for making the society just and fair.

Ali, the legendary boxer of all time, who was named Cassius Marcellus Clay, Jr. at birth died on June 3 at age 74. A part of his activism of remaining defiant against those who do not recognize his roots, the people of color, is inspiring.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

